South Australia (SA)

South Australia as the name suggests in the south of the country and is unique in that it borders all mainland Australian States and Territories except the Australian Capital Territory.

South Australia covers an area of almost 1 million square kilometres, from the ocean in the south to the border with the Northern Territory in central Australia.

The South Australian capital is Adelaide, sometimes called the City of Churches because of its rich heritage of architecturally significant Churches and Cathedrals. Adelaide is Australia's fifth largest city after Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth.

South Australia is famous for fabulous wines produced in the the vineyards of the Barossa Valley, Opal mining at Coober Pedy, the untouched wilderness of the Flinders Ranges National Park and the vast Nullarbor Plain.

Things to see and do in South Australia:

  • Barossa Valley Wineries
  • St. Peter's Cathedral in Adelaide
  • Flinders Ranges National Park
  • Coober Pedy Opal Mines
  • Kangaroo Island

Go To Top